Farming on the 5′s

Yesterday, I asked Brad if he was going to do anything farming related tomorrow since it would be the 15th. He said, “No, I’m going to go to church and pray for my crops.” Since he wasn’t going to do anything and since it’s a Sunday, I have a little bit of blog church for you.

I listened to this sermon this week on a day when I had about two hours of kidless car time. This excerpt is so fitting because we just got an e-mail with our corn seed bill. I’ll tell you more about that another day. For now, read these two paragraphs. The second one discusses farming, but you have to read the first to fully understand the point of the second.

…”“if I sow sparingly, I should expect to reap sparingly. If I sow bountifully, I should expect to reap bountifully.” Now one of the things that this text reminds us is that, when you give to God, you’re not giving your money away. This is a really important thing to understand. When I buy stuff, I’m throwing it away. But when I sow into God’s Kingdom, I’m sowing seed and I expect a harvest; I expect to reap back. It’s the only spending of my money I do where I’m not throwing it away….

This spring hundreds of thousands of dollars of seed will be sown by these farmers. I’m going to guarantee you that not one single farmer, at the end of the day of sowing seed, will come back home, sit at the kitchen table and, with his head in his hands, weep because he just threw away all his seed. The farmer understands you have to sow the seed in order to reap a harvest. This isn’t complicated. If you sow sparingly, you reap sparingly. If you sow bountifully, you reap bountifully. It’s simple farming….” 

2 thoughts on “Farming on the 5′s

Leave a Reply

