How I Ended Up Here – The part where I get married

How did I end up as a farmer’s wife living in a town with a population of less than 150?

I guess I married a farmer. I just didn’t know that’s who he was when I married him. When we were dating and first married I remember being relieved when he’d say anything along the lines of not wanting to move back to his hometown or farm. I knew he liked playing with his antique tractor, but I envisioned us ending up on an acreage near Lincoln where he would have his little antique farming operation for a hobby. Doesn’t that sound like the perfect life?

Brad and I met our freshman year at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. He was completely different than I ever envisioned a farmer boy. He was still in great shape from being a track star at the end of his senior year. He had an earring, bleached hair, and owned more than just Wranglers. Looking at pictures showed me he had braces too. I don’t remember that.

He’s the “U” and the “I.”

The only thing that concerned me about him was that he didn’t have any Christian music CD’s, just a lot of Garth Brooks. What kind of a Christian has no Christian CD’s? My parents approved of him, so I quickly stopped worrying about his lack of Christian music knowledge.

We got married the summer after our Junior year in college. He got his first taste of an office job that first year and decided he couldn’t handle being stuck inside behind a desk. He got a little stir crazy in the city too, but I figured it would grow on him by the time I finished graduate school. He took his agriculture business degree and became an electrician. I graduated with my masters two years later and got a job as a speech-language pathologist at an elementary school.

Click here for Part 2!

This entry was posted in My Story by Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Julie

I'm blogging to glorify God by educating you about farming and telling you what God's doing in my life in the small (we're talking village) town in which I live.

14 thoughts on “How I Ended Up Here – The part where I get married

  1. Loving this blog! I was hoping you would keep us updated on the transition! I have been thinking a lot about you this week! Hope all is going well and we will be praying for you….and reading your blog! I want to see pictures of your house after you get moved in!

    Like

    • Thanks Kaydee! I’ll put a few pictures on of the house someday. Right now they would just be pictures of piles of stuff sitting everywhere!

      Like

  2. Pingback: How I Ended Up Here – The part in which we try farming. | Small Town Nebraska

  3. Pingback: How I Ended Up Here – The part in which I do not like it here. | Small Town Nebraska

  4. Pingback: How I Ended Up Here – The part in which I end up here. | Small Town Nebraska

  5. Oh come on Julie, where are the pictures of you?!?! I bet I could find some to add! Even I am in the top Husker one, that was a FUN game! (glad you can’t really see me though, I only know its me, since it WAS me!

    Like

  6. It never crossed my mind to add a picture of myself with my face painted for the game, but I see you with the “N” on your shirt right above the sign. That was such a fun year. I actually found that red paint when I was packing to move. I kept it for the day we decide to paint our faces for a Husker game again.

    Like

    • Who are the R and S? I can’t remember. I think freshman year was the best! I could tell a story about your knocking your head on the floor…..oh the memories!!

      Like

      • Just by looking at that little picture I’m guessing “S” is Caleb. I’ll have to look at another picture to see the “R” better. As far as knocking my head on the floor, you’re going to have to help me remember that.

        Like

  7. Pingback: Pictures Added | Small Town Nebraska

  8. Pingback: Pancake Feed | Small Town Nebraska « nebraskaenergyobserver

  9. Pingback: Pancake Feed | Small Town Nebraska | Sago

  10. Pingback: 2013 Top Ten | Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

