How I Ended Up Here – The part in which we try farming.

Part 1, now for Part 2

Life was moving along nicely in the direction I had envisioned. We bought a townhouse and both had good full time jobs. We had our first child, Elliana,

and I’m sure I started thinking about when we would move into our next home.

Brad however couldn’t stop thinking about farming. I tried to encourage him in other ways and explain to him why I thought we needed to stay in Lincoln, but it was to no avail. He had to go farm.

He found some land to rent near his hometown and started driving back and forth while I finished up the school year and stayed in Lincoln until after Wyatt was born.

Initially our plan was to move completely, but after farming for a few months Brad wasn’t so sure he needed to be a farmer anymore. I was more than relieved to hear that. Several things contributed to this, but the big one that sticks in my mind was that he felt like he’d miss out on seeing his little kids too much because he was working such long hours.

We moved to the country when Wyatt was five weeks old but on a purely trial basis. We kept our house in Lincoln and only moved what we had to in case we decided to move back. Wyatt actually just slept in a pack-n-play for most of his first year of life so we didn’t have to move his crib. (I think he’s recovered from that poor treatment now.)

Read onto Part 3 here!

This entry was posted in My Story by Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Julie

I'm blogging to glorify God by educating you about farming and telling you what God's doing in my life in the small (we're talking village) town in which I live.

5 thoughts on “How I Ended Up Here – The part in which we try farming.

  1. Pingback: How I Ended Up Here – The part in which I do not like it here. | Small Town Nebraska

  2. Pingback: How I Ended Up Here – The part in which I end up here. | Small Town Nebraska

  3. Pingback: Pictures Added | Small Town Nebraska

  4. Pingback: Special People | Small Town Nebraska

  5. Pingback: How I Ended Up Here – The part where I get married | Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

