How I Ended Up Here – The part in which I do not like it here.

Part 1, Part 2, and here’s Part 3

To be frank, our first summer farming currently ranks as one of the worst I’ve ever had. I’m sure my attitude was not right, I had a newborn, an almost two year old and was entirely alone with them for hours on end.  I’d left friends, family and neighbors. I was twenty miles from a park, with at least half of those miles on gravel that turned to mud if it precipitated. Our house was a mile from any other inhabited house and I had more bugs, living and dead, in my house than any house should have. Clearly, circumstances made me not want to stay.

Brad was enjoying the work of farming, but his corn got hailed on. If we farmed another year and had the same profit, we’d be sunk. It felt like we’d be 45 before we’d ever be starting to get established as a farmer. It was a hard decision but we decided to start an electrical company and move back to Lincoln.

My parents took this lovely picture of us by the front door of our farm house early in the day that we moved we moved back – notice our contrasting expressions.

I did cry when we left the house. I learned so much that year and we still made memories. I felt sad for Brad and sad to leave the deer, turkey and sunrises and sunsets. I was sure Elliana was going to really miss the ants we saw on our walk to the mailbox.

Starting an electrical company was a challenge of it’s own, but I prayed like none other for God to provide work for Brad. God faithfully provided. I did my best to be an encouragement to Brad, which was less of a challenge than the summer before because I was living in my “happy place” and understood what it felt like to be unhappy with life.

I got to work in a high school and fell in love with my role in the school and with the students. It was the perfect job for me. Brad on the other hand was used to working long hard days and was not happy with waiting for someone to call with an electrical need and hoping for work to appear. We were still able to get settled into a new peaceful routine.

On to part 4….

This entry was posted in My Story by Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Julie

I'm blogging to glorify God by educating you about farming and telling you what God's doing in my life in the small (we're talking village) town in which I live.

3 thoughts on “How I Ended Up Here – The part in which I do not like it here.

  1. Pingback: How I Ended Up Here – The part in which I end up here. | Small Town Nebraska

  2. Pingback: My Needs | Small Town Nebraska

  3. Pingback: How I Ended Up Here – The part in which we try farming. | Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

