How I Ended Up Here – The part in which I end up here.

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 and here’s Part 4

Life was moving in the direction I hoped. Brad did keep hearing messages at church about how you shouldn’t just work to make a living but you should do what you feel passionate about, what God made you to do. I think I probably just rolled my eyes and then prayed he would find something to be passionate about in Lincoln.

Then one evening in January Brad comes home and flat out tells me he thinks he needs to go back and farm. I just put my head on the counter and I think I may have said, “Are you kidding me?!” Did he not remember all the reasons we moved back seven months ago?

He wasn’t kidding, but I was not going to agree to that. I started praying for a miracle for him, that somehow he could find a job he could enjoy, that he could farm around Lincoln or that he would get a huge electrical job that would keep him busier. I knew God could figure something out.

Talk about a couple of stressful months as a couple. Brad’s wanting to go farm, and I’m wanting to stay in my happy place. What were we supposed to do when he’s happy there, and I’m happy here? I kept praying for God to show up big for us. Then one night I was laying in bed pondering our situation, God showed up and made me cave. I realized I didn’t have any option, and I was tired of trying to push us the way I wanted to go without support from him.

I made some stipulations to my agreeing to go.

1. I wouldn’t move at the beginning of the summer.
2. I wanted to work part of the next school year in Lincoln.

I thought if I could do those things I might be able to cope better than the last time we moved. I sadly had to give up the second stipulation a short while later but it was too late to change course.

Although I didn’t want to move, it was such a relief to have a happier husband and a deep peace about where our life was headed. God made it clear in several ways to us that we were heading where He wanted us to be. I have no idea why He wanted us in small town Nebraska, but we were going and trusting that moving was part of His bigger plan.

When we looked at options of places to live there were two. Both were in town and one was a better option than the other. We bought the better option and moved in August of 2011. (If you were wondering, I had/have my moments but I coped/am coping better than when we moved previosly.)

My kind readers, that is my story of how I ended up as a farmer’s wife living in a town with a population of less than 150.

Map of USA with Nebraska highlighted

Image via Wikipedia

Any questions?

This entry was posted in My Story by Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Julie

I'm blogging to glorify God by educating you about farming and telling you what God's doing in my life in the small (we're talking village) town in which I live.

4 thoughts on “How I Ended Up Here – The part in which I end up here.

  1. I’m glad your coping and doing better this time! Think and pray for you often. We will be coming to Gothenburg…well at least the kids and I in September for Harvest Festival if you want to come down and go to the parade with us! I love reading your blog!

    Like

  2. Pingback: 6 months | Small Town Nebraska

  3. Pingback: How I Ended Up Here – The part in which I do not like it here. | Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

