Ducks

I took my camera along for the drive to and from work because I keep seeing bloggable pictures. Looking for things to photograph sure made the drive more interesting.

This “pond” was full of ducks, so I stopped to take a picture. By the time I got my camera out, they were flying away. I still took the picture because that’s how life seemed to be going – not how I wanted it.

If you’re feeling like you’re just wanting to scream at your life,  I’m not here to tell you how to get out of it. I was having a plate chipping, flat tire, cruddy cell reception, not in Lincoln on a game day weekend, exhausted husband, bad news, you get the idea kind of week; and when I was in the middle of it nothing anyone said made me feel much better.

My sadness was compounded by the fact that life is quite frustrating for many other people in my world. Cancer, unemployment, brain aneurysms, loneliness, frustrated work situations, infertility. What is the point?

I’ve thankfully moved through my funk and can now look at things more rationally. My first rational thought:

The key to getting out of a funk is to not get in one.

I have to think about things that are true, honorable, right, pure, and lovely (Philippians 4). Dwelling on where I wish I was doesn’t really help much. Thinking God could care less about me gets me no where. Instead I have to force my mind to believe the truth that God has a good plan and loves me.

As for all the bad news and sadness my friends and family are dealing with, I’ve concluded I have no better option than to believe God has a plan and cares. My other option would be to think He doesn’t care and that’s just more depressing than all the bad news combined.

Psalm 34:15-18

15 The eyes of the LORD are toward the righteous
And His ears are open to their cry.
16 The face of the LORD is against evildoers,
To cut off the memory of them from the earth.
17 The righteous cry, and the LORD hears
And delivers them out of all their troubles.
18 The LORD is near to the brokenhearted
And saves those who are crushed in spirit.

Can we believe that? Sounds like the best option to me.

5 thoughts on “Ducks

  1. Pingback: Jody | Small Town Nebraska

  2. I’ve come to realize during my 57 plus years that all that hard stuff is so we will learn to come to God with stuff – just like you just did – sharing those passages that bless us…I TOO thank you for being real. 🙂

    Like

  3. I would’ve truly been “real” if I would’ve blogged several days ago; but due to my goal to be a positive blogger, you got to read how I think when I’m actually rested and coping. Thanks for the hugs and encouragement!

    Like

  4. Pingback: No More Sorrow and No More Pain « Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

