Autumn River Run

SkinnyRunner isn’t probably going to review this race, so I figure I better.

It’s a true small town Nebraska run. Less than 100 people ran the half marathon, and I knew four of them. One of those four was Shauna. The lonely clock on the bare wall shows the time we left for the race.

If she wouldn’t have signed up, I might not have either. I’m glad we did.

The weather was perfect. The scenery was quite beautiful as far as beautiful Nebraska scenery is concerned. We certainly didn’t have to slow down because of too many people.

Here’s proof: scenic and spacious

We only paid $25 for the race and got a moisture control long sleeve tshirt. I’m sure the cost of the race was low partly because they didn’t have to worry about any traffic control or crowd control. We just ran down the road and moved over if a car came.

As for the crowd along the race, it was our cheering section and one other lady. That’s about it.

Our cheering section included the kids (see the right side of the road in the above picture), our husbands, who didn’t take pictures of themselves, and our friends Christopher and Ashley, who got up early enough to beat our families to the start of the race!

It would’ve been slightly boring without our cheering section. The race route allowed them to stand in one spot where we saw them four times plus the two times they drove past us. I looked forward to every single time.

By the looks of us at the finish, I think you can tell we had a good run.

We didn’t finish in our best times, but we blame that on the altitude difference between Eastern and Western Nebraska. It is different and does make a difference in how fast you can run. At least that’s what I’ve convinced myself.

It is also worth noting that the bathroom we used before the race had no door and no doors on the stalls. Talk about bonding with your fellow runners. It was a women’s bathroom with two toilets and one urinal, but we certainly didn’t have to wait in a long line before the race. It wouldn’t have been a problem if there was a line because they made sure everyone was out of the bathroom before they started the race.

Now I can’t wait until the Lincoln half!  I’m slightly addicted to half marathons.

5 thoughts on “Autumn River Run

  1. Your pictures are deceiving, Julie….your finishing picture should be before mine since you finished 5 minutes ahead of me! Thanks again for the great time!

    Like

  2. I don’t think I could have done that, the only reason I finished the Lincoln 1/2 is the crowd lining the streets…..oh and you will probably never hear me say…”I’m addicted to 1/2 marathons:) You are awesome!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Smut | Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

