“Here Burns My Candle”

Moving caused a major reading slump, but I finally finished a book since that happened.

“Here Burns My Candle” by Liz Curtis Higgs takes place in 1745 in Edinburg. It’s historical fiction with a touch of romance. It took me several chapters to get a picture in my mind of where the book was and what was going on primarily. I needed a “this is what life was like in 1745” as part of the introduction. Probably what I really need is to take a world history class. For now I’ll just have to stick with reading entertaining books like this. Once I checked up on the setting a little I was good to go and had my nose in the book as much as time would allow.

I appreciated that the plot is not predictable. I had no idea where the author was taking the story until the very end. At the end, I wished I had a library close so I could check out the next book in the series. (I miss the library.) I have no idea what the plot will be for the next book, but I’m sure it will be good.

I love how reading this book helped me learn about a different time and place. It made me thankful for my country, my family and for living in 2011! If you’re looking for a good book to read, this wouldn’t be a bad idea.

I received this book for free (a while ago) from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. Now I hope they’ll let me review another one! I’m sure they’ll be more inclined to do so if you give my review a good ranking. I’m not sure if the link works, but try if you like.

http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/bloggingforbooks/reviews/ranking/13310/short:1

Thanks!

This entry was posted in Books by Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Julie

I'm blogging to glorify God by educating you about farming and telling you what God's doing in my life in the small (we're talking village) town in which I live.

6 thoughts on ““Here Burns My Candle”

  1. LOL! I just got my next book the other day and I literally thought, “Hmmm. I wonder if Julie is still doing this?” Glad to see you still are! Can’t wait to see what you read next.

    Like

      • I have one of hers too! I was so excited to see her on there again since I loved the last series as well. Harvest of Grace. I read the first one in this series, but this series doesn’t seem to be quite as entertwined as the Sister’s of the Quilt series was. Can’t wait to find the time to get it all read!

        Like

  2. I’m sure they probably aren’t as close as the library was in Lincoln, but the Paxton and Grant libraries are really nice and have a good selection of books (I’m sure the Wallace one does too, but I’ve never personally been there) Don’t know what days you work, but I think the Paxton library has a kids story time on Mondays at 10. We went a lot last year when we first moved out here and they always read a story, did crafts, and then had a treat. We haven’t been in a while though so you might want to check on the day/time. I just talked with the librarian in Grant and she is thinking of starting a once a month story time after Christmas. I will let you know if I hear more. Think Wallace has something too, but not sure when.

    Like

    • Hi Rachel! I wondered if you still lived out here. 🙂 I’ll have to check out the Paxton and Grant libraries. I get a little lazy about going places on the days I’m home, but we’re needing some book variety. Thanks for the info!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Mine is the Night « Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

