Shafty

Let’s just say I had a few days this week that were not my favorite. One of them as I was heading out the door for work I announced to Brad with as much drama as I could muster that I had another shafty day ahead of me.  I like to think I made the word up shafty.  It’s the adjective form of ‘shaft’ which has one definition that reads “informal harsh or unfair treatment.”

It was on my way to work that day, I saw these poor cows having to stand out in the freezing wind with snow and ice on their backs. I’m sure my perspective brightened when I realized I should be glad I’m not a cow.

Actually, the sermon I usually start giving to myself when I’m feeling life is not fair, which usually means I’m feeling selfish, is my own version of Philippians 2. Here’s the written out blog version:

No one knows unselfishness or unfairness like Jesus. He lived in the perfect, unimaginable place where He had perfect community with God all the time. He gave that up to come to earth and die; not just to die, but to die and take the punishment for my selfishness, for all my sins, and for the sins of the entire world.

That makes moving from Lincoln to small town Nebraska look like a cake walk.

As the conclusion to my peptalk, I put on “The Stand” as loud as any person would who knows that loud noise causes hearing loss.

You stood before creation
Eternity within Your hand
You spoke the earth into motion
My soul now to stand

You stood before my failure
Carried the Cross for my shame
My sin weighed upon Your shoulders
My soul now to stand

So what can I say
What can I do
But offer this heart O God
Completely to You

So I’ll walk upon salvation
Your Spirit alive in me
This life to declare Your promise
My soul now to stand

So what can I say
What can I do
But offer this heart O God
Completely to You

So I’ll stand
With arms high and heart abandoned
In awe of the One who gave it all

So I’ll stand
My soul Lord to You surrendered
All I am is Yours

If you want to hear the song, here’s a video. Just listen and then watch the last ten seconds. The rest of the video didn’t do much for me.

I need to remind myself that everyday. I have no right to complain about feeling like I’ve had a shafty day.

If what they tell me is true, you just read this blog’s 100th post. I had to try to make post 100 decent, hence the delay between posts these days. I also blame that delay on wasting my computer time last weekend looking for good deals. My eyes can only take so much screen time.
When I saw I was approaching 100 posts, it made me assess and reconsider this whole blog thing. I decided I should create a survey to know what kinds of posts you like to read, I wish I could give blogging more time,  and I wish I was a better blogger as a whole; but I still need blogging too much to quit now.
Thanks for reading!
5 thoughts on “Shafty

  1. Yes Julie – it is refreshing – we’ve all had days like that – I’ve had a LOT – some days when I’ve been guilty of accusing God of not caring one bit about me – then OF COURSE – I get deeply convicted and repent. You hang in there. Your blogs bless me every time I read them – please don’t stop!! 🙂 Love you kiddo!!

    Like

  2. Hey, I think (know) I had at least one ‘shafty’ day this past week, too. Maybe this shaftiness business came with the weather? 🙂

    Congrats on your 100th post! I always think of my blog (however small and silly it sometimes seems) as a journal of sorts as I no longer have time to scrapbook or draw . . . I think yours is a wonderful snapshot of your life and both you and your family will enjoy it when the seasons change and life looks a little bit different than it does now. Those little memories, thoughts, feelings (however shafty! :)) are hard to remember unless you bring them to life on ‘paper’.

    Did you find lots of good deals?!?!?! My own mailbox will soon be full. Oh, how we love the UPS man! (Or the PU man, as August used to say when he was little!)

    Like

    • The weather sure didn’t help anything. The kids and I get crabby when we can’t be outside.
      I didn’t find as many good deals as I was wanting but we still have some deliveries coming our way. I love having a box sitting outside the front door!

      Like

Leave a Reply

