Book Time

I’ve finished two books since I last talked books here. The first one I got free for this review from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group.  Isn’t that nice of them?

About a third of the way through A Sound Among the Trees by Susan Meissner, you’ll wonder why you’re reading a ghost story and actually feeling nervous that there actually might be a ghost. I give credit to the author for making me think I might jump out of my seat and for writing in a way that made a person who isn’t into ghost stories keep reading. Only a few pages are slightly scary, not the book as a whole.

A Sound Among the Trees has a historical fiction component to it, but half of the book doesn’t take place during that time. I probably learned more about the Civil War than I realize, but you don’t finish the story feeling like a Civil War know-it-all.

The first half of the book is present day, the second half takes you back to the Civil War era, and the last few pages tie it all together.  It was easy to read, I didn’t have to motivate myself to finish it, but I wasn’t in love with the story either. At the same time, I wouldn’t be opposed to reading more books by Susan Meissner.

The second book I finished was Well Being by Tom Rath and Jim Harter. My employer actually bought it for all their staff to read for professional development purposes. You could call it a follow up to Strengths Finder, although I haven’t actually read that book and discovered my strengths. I’m guessing it would also go well with Find Your Strongest Life: What the Happiest and Most Successful Women Do Differently, which I also haven’t read; but my sister said it was a good read and that means something.

Well Being was very interesting and super easy to read. It’s full of interesting statistics about well being. I was amazed how many of them lined up with Biblical truth. It gives you a code so you can take a test online to see what your well being score is. You can be suffering, struggling or thriving. I took the test in August of last year and again this week. I was struggling both times, but very close to thriving and two points better this week than in August. I’m making progress people. I would recommend this book to anyone, but I think everyone should try to make their boss read it.

Now to relate this post to Nebraska, let me draw your attention to a book written by a Nebraskan!  I lived in the same dorm or “residence hall” as Leah Peterson, the author of An Apple for Dapple. It was a place full of fabulous women, and Leah was no exception. I haven’t read An Apple for Dapple yet, but I hope to soon. Considering Elliana likes to pretend to be a horse, I’m sure my kids will like it.

My current read is A Praying Life by Paul Miller. My mom and sister rave about it, so I can’t get by without reading it too. After two chapters, I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the book. An interesting quote from it: “We don’t learn to pray in isolation from the rest of our lives.”

Now, if you’re feeling kind, try to go and rate my review of A Sound Among the Trees by clicking this odd link. http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/bloggingforbooks/reviews/ranking/16344 Thanks!

This entry was posted in Books by Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Julie

I'm blogging to glorify God by educating you about farming and telling you what God's doing in my life in the small (we're talking village) town in which I live.

Leave a Reply

