Moonset in the Panhandle

We took a little trip this weekend. I’ll tell you where in a post scheduled for the 17th. The trip required a drive through the panhandle of Nebraska fairly early in the morning. I’ve lived in Nebraska my entire life and don’t ever remember seeing the panhandle. It has an entirely unique look of it’s own.

As we were driving, the moon was setting and the sun was rising. It was neat enough to make me look up from my good book frequently.


The moon looked much larger in person.
If you drive on the interstate through the Nebraska panhandle you will drive by the world headquarters of Cabela’s. Brad just so happened to be drinking coffee from our Cabela’s travel mug, so I took a picture.

You’re wondering what book I was reading, right? I was reading The Scent of Cherry Blossoms by Cindy Woodsmall. She has become one of my favorite authors of easy to read fiction. This book, like The Christmas Singing, is a novella; I would recommend it for a road trip, as long as you don’t get car sick when reading. I’m not a fast reader and was able to read the entire book in about eight hours. Consider it as a fun Mother’s Day gift idea if your mom likes to read.

The Scent of Cherry Blossoms is a sweet story with a happy ending that makes you wish the story would keep going so you could read all the happy things that happen after all the conflict is resolved. I figure one sign of a good book is that you don’t want it to end.

One of the main characters stutters and another was in an accident that caused him to be wheelchair bound. I really appreciated the perspective Woodsmall puts on both of those disabilities.  From my professional perspective, she did correctly write about things that help a person who stutters; however, she doesn’t match the actual quoted stuttering (e.g., “Only when I have t-to.”) with the degree of severity she tries to depict in the narrative part of the story. That minor issue I had with the book didn’t ruin the story for me.

Thanks goes to Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing who provided me with a copy of this book for this review. I enjoyed reading it!

http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/bloggingforbooks/reviews/ranking/16825

3 thoughts on “Moonset in the Panhandle

  1. Julie, I just finished The Scent of Cherry Blossoms the other week too! Another fabulous read from Cindy Woodsmall. Thank you for introducing me to her…she’s my favorite author now! I hope all is well with your little tribe! We need to connect soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

