A Story About Farmers in 1954

Both sets of my grandparents were dairy farmers. Both enjoy telling stories about their life, but I recently got to spend some quality time with my Grandpa Johnnie and Grandma Ellie and took some notes. I loved hearing a little about their life as farmers. My how things have changed!

My grandpa likes to tell people that he and grandma were born the same year, baptized the same year, and married the same year. They started their marriage with a 1929 Model A as their vehicle. On ce  a week they drove twenty miles to town to sell their cream and eggs. They dropped the cream off at the creamery, stopped back to pick up the empty can and money, then went on their way.  They used that money to buy groceries.

Jump ahead a few years to January of 1954. Ellie had years ago told my Johnnie that she was not going to go to  church in the Model A because every time they stopped it went “Poof!” They are now driving to town in a 1953 Chevy Belaire automatic and have two boys and one on the way. The oldest child is riding in the back with 30 dozen eggs, the next one in line, a toddler, is riding in the front on his pregnant mother’s lap.
The road was icy and the car started to slide toward a snow bank. The front passenger door flew open and out flew Ellie and the toddler on her lap into the snow bank. She ended up getting stitches in her elbow and a few of the 30 dozen eggs cracked. I guess the boy on her lap was unharmed.
This story was much more entertaining coming out of their mouths, but I didn’t think to get a video camera out at the time. Now I hope to get some more stories from the rest of our living grandparents. I might like writing about their lives more than my own.
This entry was posted in My Family by Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Julie

I'm blogging to glorify God by educating you about farming and telling you what God's doing in my life in the small (we're talking village) town in which I live.

Leave a Reply

