Books

I’ve been in read mode lately. I’m slightly crabby about doing anything other than reading when that happens. I need to work on that.

I’m still reading A Praying Life. I highly recommend it. It’s easy to read and very thought provoking. Read this quote from the chapter on Bending Your Heart to the Father.”When you stop trying to control your life and instead allow your anxieties and problems to bring you to God in prayer, you shift from worry to watching.”

The reason I haven’t finished A Praying Life is because I started to novels, and once I start a good novel I can’t wait to know what’s going to happen next.

Angel Sister by Ann Gabhart is about a family and all their difficulties in life during the Great Depression. It has frequent flashbacks to World War 1, so you feel like you’re getting in on two major time periods in history. I’d say the story’s theme was about trusting God when life is hard. I ended up enjoying the book much more than I thought I would initially.

The other novel I read was given to me by Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing for this review. Not This Time by Vicki Hinze made me think of an extremely tame version of the television series 24. (The book didn’t have any gruesome interrogation scenes or cars jumping out of parking garages.)  It did have a little romance mixed in with a slightly complex mystery related to an international terrorist group. The only thing I learned from the book was the idea of praying for the greater good for people in situation when you don’t know what to pray. Otherwise it was just an enjoyable read. For me, it was completely different than any other Christian fiction I’ve read, and it was a good different.

My difficulty was that it was the 3rd book in a series. I considered reading books 1 and 2 first because I highly dislike reading books out of order; but I didn’t. With the number of characters mentioned in the first few chapters, I had a hard time getting a grasp on who was who and who did what until a few chapters into the book. Some of the minor characters I’m not sure if I ever really figured out how they fully fit.  I’m sure if you read the first two books in the series before you read book three you wouldn’t have that problem. Based on Not This Time, I’m guessing they would be good reads.

Next post…Our Saturday Night Outing

This entry was posted in Books and tagged by Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Julie

I'm blogging to glorify God by educating you about farming and telling you what God's doing in my life in the small (we're talking village) town in which I live.

Leave a Reply

