Special People

I’ve been mulling over this post since the end of the school year. It’s hard to put into words the connection you make with the people who watch your children when you work. Thankfully Joanna, the mother of the girl who watches Elliana and Wyatt, emailed a letter to friends and family about their life and she summed it up perfectly. Maybe she should start a blog.

“Emily is still babysitting Elliana and Wyatt three days a week during the school months. They feel like family by now. Elliana is at an impressionable age and some of her comments are so funny: As she was heading to the trash balancing a dead fly on the flyswatter: “Oh, the fly is gone!” Me: “Did it fall off?” E: “Appermanently it did!” As I emerged from the bedroom after a fresh application of lotion: “Joanna, I have never seen you smell so good! And after a trip to the chicken coop with some scraps: “I need some more bread. The chickens are like having mad faces!” Emily reads My Bible Friends to them and we sing together, People, People, Love is Something, Tell it Again…. Wyatt usually prays at the dinner table and always his opening line is, “Thanks I go to Emily’s house.” We have been missing them…”

They watched the kids for us a little the first time we moved here. They were also new to the area and if I wouldn’t have needed to rush to work when dropping the kids off and hurry home to make supper when picking them up I might have over stayed my welcome. When we moved back this time it seemed like a natural option to have them watch the kids again. I’m sure God placed them in my life to be friendly faces to talk to and a bright spot in many days.

This year having them watch the kids ended up meaning I had to drive on more gravel than I would have had to otherwise. If I calculate right, a major guesstimate would be around 3,000 miles of gravel roads. It stressed me out at first; but I got a lot of pictures to post out of the deal, God protected by keeping us from rolling or hitting something in an intersection (not a lot of stop and yield signs in the country), I barely had to drive on mud at all, and it was worth it!

Leave a Reply

