Another Book Report

Before I show you pictures of wheat harvest, I need to tell you about The Fiddler by Beverly Lewis because Bethany House Publishers sent it free to me for a review. I can’t make them wait any longer.

The Fiddler is a romantic novel about a professional musician and an Amish man. It easily captured my attention. I enjoyed reading it and had no trouble wanting to finish. At the same time, I didn’t “fall in love” with it. I enjoyed the characters, but I didn’t connect with them. The story felt like fiction.

I’ve read a lot of Amish fiction lately and often the main conflict in the story is about whether the characters are going to remain Amish or not or whether a character is going to become Amish or not. The Fiddler tends to have that as a main conflict as well although adding the story line of the professional violinist does add a nice dimension.

I’m assuming that The Fiddler will be followed by other books as part of the Home to Hickory Hollow series. I’m not biting at the bit for the next book in the series to be released; but at the same time, I will not be opposed to reading it either.

As for other books, my sister told me I must read In The Presence of My Enemies by Gracia Barnum. She reads a lot; so if she says a book is good, it must be good. She and her husband were hostages in the Philippines. I remember hearing about their story while it was happening which will make the book even more interesting to me.

I zipped right through all three books in the Ada’s house series by Cindy Woodsmall. I found the fictional stories to be beautiful pictures of grace and healing from hurt – thoroughly enjoyable reading.

This entry was posted in Books by Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Julie

I'm blogging to glorify God by educating you about farming and telling you what God's doing in my life in the small (we're talking village) town in which I live.

One thought on “Another Book Report

  1. Pingback: ARC Review & Giveaway: The Bridesmaid (Home to Hickory Hollow Series) by Beverly Lewis | Books in the Burbs

Leave a Reply

