Drought

I should have pictures comparing our irrigated corn to our dry land corn, but I don’t have such things. I’m afraid to go see our dry land corn, although Brad said it doesn’t look too bad yet. I have a picture from the side of the road where I was stopped because of road resurfacing.

Dry Land Corn next to Irrigated CornDry Land vs Irrigated CornSoon I will have pictures of the corn Brad is working on growing. I promise.

Compared to last year at this time, we’ve had 15 fewer inches of rain. The US Drought Monitor last week said we were in a severe drought, and we haven’t had rain since then. Our lawn has many crunchy spots. Most anything that isn’t irrigated looks dry. What else do you expect with weeks of 100 degree weather and no rain?

Dry PastureThe above picture was taken yesterday in the same area I took these pictures last August. It makes me wonder if the cattle look at their pastures and feel crabby.

Check out the forecast. Needless to say, we’re still praying for rain.

Don’t be confused. Today is Tuesday. I just wrote the post yesterday so Monday is the first day of the forecast.

Our need for rain keeps reminding me of my need to depend on God in every area of life and that He is in control of it all. I easily forget both things; but since the main topic of conversation around here is the hot, dry weather, I’m getting frequent reminders.

5 thoughts on “Drought

  1. Yes, we are with you in praying for rain. Since we don’t actually have any dry-land (except corners), the impact isn’t as great for us. BUT the constant irrigating is tiring and expensive. Not to mention that it ties us down. No camping trips for us till something changes! Heidi told me Sunday that your garden is looking very nice. Good for you, rookie gardener! Picked our first green beans yesterday…

    Like

    • That sounds very exhausting. Good thing you got your little vacation in when you did. That’s quite a garden compliment coming from Heidi. We just picked our first green beans this week too!

      Like

  2. Thanks for the post, Julie! The drought is widespread this year and it reminds me of the early 2000’s. During times of drought I’m often reminded of Habakkuk 3:17-18…that farming is rewarding and risky and requires a great deal of Faith and prayer. No matter how bad the drought becomes, these verses remind me to rejoice in the Lord and seek ways to rejoice in Him everyday. We will continue to pray for rain for all our farmers and may these verses encourage you right now too!

    Like

    • Habakkuk 3:17-18
      17 Though the fig tree should not blossom
      And there be no fruit on the vines,
      Though the yield of the olive should fail
      And the fields produce no food,
      Though the flock should be cut off from the fold
      And there be no cattle in the stalls,

      18 Yet I will exult in the Lord,
      I will rejoice in the God of my salvation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

