Peppers

In order to show you a nice picture of my garden I avoided the spot with the dead pea plants and lots of weeds. You’re looking at carrots in the back, potato plants crowding the rhubarb which will someday be crowding my asparagus. The last time I “gardened” was when my mom put “pick beans” on my list of chores for the day. Considering that, I’ve felt really blessed by this garden. I would choose to play in the garden over cleaning and cooking most any day.

Wednesday I picked those two buckets of produce. It really equals out to two ice cream buckets of beans, a few pathetic looking tomatoes and a lot of some type of pepper. My garden missed the memo that I wanted to be able to make pico de gallo with what it produced. The cilantro grew great but blossomed and turned into coriander long ago. I now have peppers coming out my ears but most tomatoes the seem like they’ll wait until August to turn red.

Beans are under the tomatoes and peppers in the picture, so I don’t have THAT many peppers. I just have more than I know how to handle.Β Any great ideas? Would you like some? I could give you some whole coriander to go with them too; and if that’s not enough to make you want some, I could get some zucchini from someone and throw that in too. Seriously.

5 thoughts on “Peppers

  1. If you like jalapeno “poppers” Patty Jo’s MIL has a great recipe for stuffing them and then grilling them – She just opens them and takes the seeds out and then uses cream cheese, salt and pepper and then some type of seasoning – I forgot what – but it’s similar to Lawrey’s Seasoning Salt – I can find out what it is if you are interested. BUT – I don’t like real hot food and I LOVED them grilled this way – She even freezes them if I remember right (uncooked) and then puts them on the grill when ever they are grilling. As I said – if you are interested – I’ll get the particulars and email them to you. I had jalapenos in abundance one year – so I gave buckets of them to Ann Barker and she of course made them all into salsa. πŸ™‚ Haven’t ever grown them since. πŸ™‚ Your gardening looks great. My tomatoes never turn till school time really either. Just the patio ones – Cherry tomatoes. I’m sure there is some way to get them farther along sooner but no idea what it is. πŸ™‚ GOOD LUCK with the rest of the season. Love you, Joy

    Like

    • I’ve stuffed them with just cream cheese and wrapped them in bacon but had never thought of freezing them like that. I might try that. It’d be nice to have an appetizer like that in the freezer. I might chop some and freeze them for later if I decide to try to can salsa. Now I’ll think of Ann if I do that. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I freeze my peppers too, works great for just adding them in a dish at a later time when the garden is done. Next year you can try plant your cilantro in a shady area where the soil stays cooler or inside – it took me 2 years of corriander to learn this one, then I just gave up. πŸ™‚ And my dad told me last night (a bit too late for my now turning brown tomatoe plants) to put a Tbs of epsom salts in with the plant when you 1st plant it. His tomatoes are going crazy and are a beautiful red. I am jealous of your beans, mine didn’t do so great this year.
    I love gardening tips! I need a good one on how to get rid of squash bugs so they stop killing my zucchini and yellow squash plants!

    Like

  3. Pingback: 5 | Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

