Book Review Time Again

I thought maybe my reading kick was wearing off, but then I had eight hours in the car on Monday. I’m thankful to have a husband that doesn’t usually like to be a passenger and kids that travel extremely well. I started this book on the drive and finished it Tuesday morning.

I’m going with a new format for book reviews. It saves me from trying to write in paragraphs and thinking of an interesting way to tell about every book. If you have something else you’d like me to add, let me know.

Title (link to where you can buy the book, which benefits me nothing): The Widow of Saunders Creek
Author: Tracey Bateman
Publisher: Waterbrook Multnomah, who so freely and kindly sent me this book to review
Genre: Christian Romance, Fiction
What I gained from reading it: The reminder that “We wrestle not against flesh and blood…” and the enjoyment of reading
What I liked: I did like this book, but I can’t think of a lot of specific things I liked about it. In general I liked the plot, the characters and the romance.
What I wasn’t sure about: The book is written in first person that alternates between the two main characters. You never have to wonder who is doing the thinking or talking, but at times it seemed a little odd. At the same time, I appreciate that Bateman tried to write the book in something other than 3rd person. It would be boring if every book I read was in 3rd person.
Ghosts. I have a hard time believing in paranormal things, but at the same time I guess you can’t believe the Bible and say that demons don’t exist. The main house in the story is “haunted,” but it didn’t feel like I was reading a ghost story; and I appreciate that. Even though the ghost part of the story may have seemed far fetched to me; I really liked the Biblical, Christian perspective the author put on it. She also did a great job of having a variety of other non ghost related plots in the story so it doesn’t consume the book.
My Overall Rating (5 point scale): 4.1

This entry was posted in Books and tagged by Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Julie

I'm blogging to glorify God by educating you about farming and telling you what God's doing in my life in the small (we're talking village) town in which I live.

2 thoughts on “Book Review Time Again

Leave a Reply

