Inspirational Reads

I have two inspirational reads to tell you about today.

Title (link to where you can buy the book, which benefits me nothing): Life Without Limits
Author: Nick Vujicic – “I was born without any limbs, but I am not constrained by my circumstances.”
Publisher: Waterbrook Multnomah, who so freely and kindly sent me this book to review
Genre: Christian Inspiration, Autobiography
What I gained from reading it: Encouragement from seeing someone who was born with a lot of disadvantages saying there’s true hope in spite of your circumstances –
“How do you stay hopeful in such situations? You trust God, remember that you are here for a reason, and dedicate yourself to fulfilling that purpose. Whatever challenge you are facing, you are blessed in ways that will help you find a path through it. Just think of my parents and the hopelessness they once faced.” (from the section titled “Live With Hope In Your Heart”)
What I liked: I work with people with disabilities all the time, and it was great to read something from a person with a disability encouraging others to live life to the fullest. Vujicic has a powerful testimony. When he says something about dealing with life’s challenges, it holds a lot more punch than if someone who has had a fairly easy life would say the same thing. I often thought when I was reading this book that it would be a great book to give to someone who was facing something really difficult in their life.
I also like that he provided a pronunciation key for his name right away. (VOY-a-chich) I would’ve been bothered to not know how to read that right.
What I wasn’t sure about: I got an electronic review copy, which was only 22 electronic pages. The actual paperback book is 288. What I read felt a little choppy, but I’m guessing that was because it was only part of the book. He writes in first person, tells short stories related to a point he wants to make, makes the point and moves on to the next thing. I wouldn’t be opposed to reading the entire book.
My Overall Rating (5 point scale): 4.0

—–

Title (link to where you can buy the book, which benefits me nothing): In The Presence of My Enemies
Author: Gracia Burnham
Publisher:Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
Genre: Christian Inspiration, Autobiography
What I gained from reading it: Thanks for telling me to read this one, Jill. Where do I start? I gained a lot from reading this book, but one thing has stuck out to me the last few days. Recently I’ve felt like a hostage to small town Nebraska. My hostage situation is nothing compared to what Martin and Gracia went through, but the command to serve the Lord with gladness is still the same.
“We sat in the hammock a minute. Martin was in a reflective mood. He said, “I really don’t know why this has happened to us. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about Psalm 100 – what it says about serving the Lord with gladness. This may not seem much like serving the Lord, but that’s what we’re doing…”” (From chapter 19, page 280 on my copy)
What I liked: I loved how the story is about ordinary people who God used to do extraordinary things! It’s a great reminder that missionaries are normal people who love what they do. It also gives an interesting perspective on Islam.
The book is well written, gives great detail and information, and is written from the heart. It is a completely worthwhile read. I’d almost put it in the “must read” category. It is inspiring material that you don’t get bored reading, and you don’t want to put it down.
What I’m not sure about: How I can make Brad find time to read it.
My Overall Rating (5 point scale): 5.0 – Seriously. Put it on your list of books to read. You won’t regret it.

—-

Now I’m reading Crazy Love by Francis Chan. Consider this quote:
“When I am consumed by my problems — stressed out about my life, my family and my job – I actually convey the belief that I think the circumstances are more important than God’s command to always rejoice. In other words, that I have the “right” to disobey God because of the magnitude of my responsibilities.” (from Chapter 2, page 38 on my copy)

Leave a Reply

