Examine Yourself

You still have time to complete my super short survey. I love the response I’ve recieved so far and can’t wait to get more!

——

Currently I’m reading Francis Chan’s book Crazy Love. I just finished his 4th chapter titled “The Profile of the Lukewarm.” One of my fears when moving to small town Nebraska was becoming a “blah” Christian. Not that I was necessarily “on fire” before but I knew I was growing in the right direction and didn’t want to end up settling for mediocrity. Nothing like reading a chapter about how a “blah” Christian might look to give myself a jump start.

I’m all of the items in the profile, just the ones that hit home to me. You’ll have to read the book to see the other motivating thoughts.

“A relationship with God simply cannot grow when money, sins, activities, favorite sports teams, addictions, or commitments are piled on top of it. Most of us have too much in our lives.”

“LUKEWARM PEOPLE….they care more about what people think of their actions (like church attendance and giving) than what God thinks of their hearts and lives.”

“LUKEWARM PEOPLE don’t really want to be saved from their sin; they want only to be saved from the penalty of their sin. They don’t genuinely hate sin and aren’t truly sorry for it.”

“LUKEWARM PEOPLE love others but do not seek to love others as much as they love themselves.”

“LUKEWARM PEOPLE think about life on earth much more often than eternity in heaven.”

“LUKEWARM PEOPLE do not live by faith; their lives are structured so they never have to. …their lives wouldn’t look much different if they suddenly stopped believing in God.”

Mull over that for a few days.

One thought on “Examine Yourself

Leave a Reply

