Be Still My Soul

Title (link to where you can buy the book, which benefits me nothing): Be Still My Soul – The first book in The Cadence of Grace Series
Author: Joanne Bischof
Publisher: Waterbrook Multnomah, who so freely and kindly sent me this book to review.
Genre: Christian Fiction
What I gained from reading it: Not a ton in terms of smarts but a good way to relax. I suppose I learned about how people lived long ago in the Blue Ridge Mountains.
What I liked: I was impressed with the author’s ability to throw surprises into the plot. Many books I could guess the gist of the rest of the plot when I’m half way through the book but not this book. At the same time, the story still has a very happy ending.  The book includes some sense of romance but the real conflict in the story is all related to one character’s need for serious heart change. The setting of the Blue Ridge Mountains was new to me. Going to a new time and place via a book is always fun, especially when that time and place is void of technology and modern conveniences.
What I wasn’t sure about: Other than that it didn’t inspire me to change anything in my own life, I have no issues with this book. I would have no trouble picking up the next book in the series to read. After that book I’ll tell you if Bischof is an author I’d recommend.
My Overall Rating (5 point scale): 3.9

The title of this book makes me think of a song, Still. When I heard it this week, I was encouraged and calmed. Here are the lyrics for you. May you be encouraged as well.

Find rest my soul
In Christ alone
Know His power
In quietness and trust

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with You above the storm
Father You are king over the flood
I will be still and know You are God

Leave a Reply

