Secrets Review

Robin Jones Gunn

Title (link to where you can buy the book, which benefits me nothing): Secrets – the first of many books in the Glenbrooke series.
Author: Robin Jones Gunn  – This book is her first adult novel.
Published: 1995 by WaterBrook Multnomah who provided me with a free copy of this book for reviewing
Genre: Christian Fiction
Plot: Jessica moves to a new town to try and start a completely new life while keeping her past life a secret.
Setting: 1990’s in Glenbrooke, Oregon
What I gained from reading: I don’t feel so bad for loving to read romance novels because Robin Jones Gunn writes this to her readers, “…romance is the essence of redemption. Think of a relentless lover pursuing his first love until they are at last united. God is the relentless lover and we are His first love.”
What I liked: It has interesting characters, is very easy to read and takes an unexpected turn. I liked the term “cushion of grace” the author uses on my page 96. “God knew what you needed and provided it before you even had a chance to ask him for it. He caught you on his cushion of grace before you fell.”
What I wasn’t sure about: The conflict resolution doesn’t transition smoothly. The main character went from thinking she was fine without Jesus to desperately needing Him without many steps to lead her in that direction in between. I didn’t have to use my brain much for this book, but you wouldn’t have to twist my arm to read the second book in the series. If Secrets was Robin Jones Gunn’s first adult novel, I’m sure the others just get better.
My Overall Rating (5 point scale): 3.8

This entry was posted in Books and tagged by Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Julie

I'm blogging to glorify God by educating you about farming and telling you what God's doing in my life in the small (we're talking village) town in which I live.

Leave a Reply

