Firefly Island Review

fireflyislandTitle (link to where you can buy the book, which benefits me nothing): Firefly Island – Apparently this is book 3 in the Moses Lake series, but I couldn’t tell you if one book builds on the others. I didn’t feel like I was missing information when reading this book without reading the other two previous books.
Author: Lisa Wingate
Published: 2013 by Bethany House Publishers who provided me with a free copy of this book for reviewing
Genre: Christian Fiction, Mystery
Plot: Malory verses a new life in a small town
Setting: Present day, Moses Lake, Texas
What I gained from reading: This novel has great quotes written throughout and at the beginning of every chapter. If you’re into quotes, you should grab this book and you’d find many good ones. Mallory often says quotes she learned from her father, which made me think of my own dad.
What I liked: It starts off in an extremely catchy way. You want to keep reading through the entire book to figure out what is going on in the first page. I related often to the main character; she moved to a small town, blogged, and had an often at work husband. It is clear the author had experienced these things for herself. “This was not a place where you could select the right neighborhood, the right schools, the right stores, the right job, meet all your needs among your own kind. In this tiny town, the people were too few to be divided.” (p. 109) I am always amazed when someone can write my feelings in such a perfect way.
What I wasn’t sure about: I could relate to the main character, but I also thought the fact that she was starting to feel somewhat adjusted after her first month of moving from DC to tiny town was completely unrealistic! I also never felt an emotional connection with the characters or plot, even though I had things in common with the main character. The story line seemed to move slow to me. The work to solve the mystery surrounding the book doesn’t happen until the last few chapters.
My Overall Rating (5 point scale): 3.5 – Firefly Island is a nice book, it just didn’t leave me feeling inspired or hungry for more.

Let me know if you’re interested in reading it. I’d like to hear someone else’s thoughts on it.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged by Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Julie

I'm blogging to glorify God by educating you about farming and telling you what God's doing in my life in the small (we're talking village) town in which I live.

5 thoughts on “Firefly Island Review

  1. I think you should write a book. I’d be happy to supply the quotes.
    It is one of my bucket list items – to put my favorite quotes in a Dennis Homemade Book of Quotes. Still my favorite after all these years: “Do the thing you fear the most, and death of fear is sure.”

    Like

    • How about you write that book and I’ll edit and review it. Could you include your German quote that translates to something with pickle in it and some real life examples of where you’ve applied these wonderful quotes? Can’t wait to read it.

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Wisdom of Dennis | Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

