Our Depressing Spring

Maybe you’re tired of hearing about the weather, but I just need to tell you how it’s making me feel.

I’m embracing the fact the weather will always be perfect in heaven.

I am not mad we had snow in April. I will not complain about moisture and would take a foot of snow this week if that’s what it takes to get some moisture to help our corn and wheat grow.

I am just sad that the joy I was planning on having due to tulips, daffodils, and trees blooming is not happening because of multiple days with temperatures below 20 degrees. I don’t even look sometimes at my yard right now because it just makes me want to frown. I actually don’t even want to go outside until I see a lack of wind and temperatures in at least the 60’s.

April 7

Daffodils Spring

Our first and only asparagus so far

Our first and only asparagus so far

We were on the cusp of full rejoicing because spring had arrived and now…

April 23

Frozen Tulips

Frozen Tulips

Frozen Lillies

Frozen Lillies

Frozen Daffodils

Frozen Daffodils

Still leafless trees

Still leafless trees

As for corn planting, it might start this week. We are also back into praying for rain routine. We’ve had some snow, but we’re still in an exceptional drought. We need moisture (and I want warmth and flowers blooming).

4 thoughts on “Our Depressing Spring

  1. Hey Julie! This spring has been strange and we are all thankful for the moisture! There’s still hope that you may get flowers from your tulips and lillies as they hadn’t produced stems even though the leaves look tough. It’s also good there’s no leaves or blooming trees-so there’s blessings in disguise 🙂 Your yellow April 7 daffodils make me smile so maybe keep enjoying those pics!

    Like

  2. As an “asparagus farmer” I can almost guarantee that you will still get some as the ground warms up. Part of my jonquils are also frozen (over the septic tank as they are in the warmest place in the yard and so first to bloom) and yeah it can be somewhat depressing – but I heard a lady in a Subway shop (eavesdropping) last weekend say to another person bemoaning the crazy weather we’ve been having – “You know stressing about the weather is hard on a person, you need to just go with what God sends us.” I thought about that a lot since I heard that – accepting what God sends – pretty convicting for me in a lot of ways…Accepting….I need to do that in a lot of areas of my life…gracefully and thankfully accepting what God sends into my life…I’ll be thinking about that for a long time to come I expect. Love you Julie. Thanks for your posts. I love to read what you write!!

    Like

    • I do have hope for my asparagus. I see little heads starting to poke through again. The sad thing was seeing the ones that were an inch or two above ground when it snowed. They looked so pathetic after it. I’m so glad you were listening to things around you at Subway. That will stick with me too. Thanks so much for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

