The Wisdom of Dennis

IMG_7456

You’re looking at three siblings who grew up under a very wise father. Today we are helping him get started on his bucket list item of writing Dennis’ Homemade Book of Quotes and giving you a taste of the wisdom we are still imparted with today. Many quotes are not original to him. He read many in books and some are one’s you may have heard your father say to you. We hear these sayings and immediately think of our dad, and we actually have many times when we turn into him and start sharing his wisdom with others.

We’ll start with quotes for times of crying.

“Dry it up!”

“Stop crying or I’ll give you something to cry about!”

“You don’t have to apologize for tears.”

“Weep with those who weep.”

For public speaking or talking with someone you don’t know:

“Start with a date and a time.”

“Ask them about themselves.”

The rain in Spain falls mainly on the plain.

When dealing with difficult people, particularly when you need better customer service or work from someone:

“This will not work for me.”  (said very sternly)

For difficult times:

“Get a verse.”

“It is what it is.”

“You can become bitter or better.”

God didn’t bring you this far to fail.”

In regards to possessions:

“Don’t love things that don’t love you back.”

“It’s all gonna burn.”

“It’s a broken cistern.”

Just plain old good wisdom:

“Do the thing you fear the most and death of fear is sure.” (His favorite one.)

“Fear = False Evidence Appearing Real”

“Labeling is enabling.”

“We are not going to dwell on the what ifs.”

“All comparisons are odious.”

“Comparison destroys contentment.”

“Measure twice cut once.”

“Make it fun.”

And the more lighthearted quotes:

“If a little is good a lot is better.” (This is especially true with things like real whipped cream and when planning the quantity of food and supplies to get for receptions.)

“Kinda dumb okay.”

“Ain’t nobody got time for that.”

“I cried and cried the day she died.” (You’ll have to read his book for the background on this one.)

 “It’s colder than a well digger’s lunch.”
 
“Crimeny!”
 
“Oh for crying out loud!”
 
“Run you swine!” (Used especially when watching football.)

Did we miss any major ones Dad?

Does anyone else have words of wisdom they learned from their dad?

12 thoughts on “The Wisdom of Dennis

  1. Uncle Dennis is the only person I’ve ever heard say “I’ve got to pee faster than a Japanese race horse.” I used to think that this meant Japanese race horses had a particularly high rate of urination. While I’m pretty sure that’s not the case, I still have no idea what he meant.

    Like

    • You made me laugh! I didn’t think we should include that quote. I think he usually says “like” instead of “faster” but I could be wrong. I think those Japanese race horses must just go a lot when they go!

      Like

      • You know, you’re right. I probably substituted “faster” for “like” as what I thought must be the most appropriate characteristic of Japanese race horses. Your interpretation does make a bit more sense. Still, I wasn’t aware that horse racing was a big thing in Japan. Apparently it is!

        Like

  2. Oh Julie. What can I say? Now I’m definitely committed to writing the book. We will think of it as a legacy…….and I “will do my best to meet the test, I won’t push anybody around”……Ooops, there I go again.

    Yes Chris…”like a Japanese race horse”. I still use this saying….but I do wonder why I would say this to a missionary kid. “Honestly”!

    Like

  3. I chucked and I chortled and enjoyed this “story” very much – I’m still laughing to myself about “RUN YOU SWINE!!!” That’s the best. Definitely needs to be a book here!!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Believing God | Small Town Nebraska

  5. Pingback: Called or Driven | Small Town Nebraska

  6. Pingback: 2013 Top Ten | Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

