Believing God

We just finished going through the John Piper DVD series Battling Unbelief at church on Wednesday nights. I found it to be very insightful. I can’t tell you how the book is, but I really liked the DVD.

If I had to narrow it down to two main points I gained from it, it would be these:

1. Faith defeats sin/increases love.

2. God doesn’t give commands without a reason or promise behind them. (I’m a rule follower, but I often fail to see the God behind the rule.)

Lamentations 3:22-23 Illustrates both of those points in regards to worry.

It says: “The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”  (It connects very nicely to Matthew 6:25-34.)

Having faith that God is faithful and forever loving, gives me a real reason for not worrying. When God commands me to not be anxious, He wants me to do so because I know He is faithful and loving. This is all over the Bible – We forgive because we believe He forgave us. We’re content because we believe He is all we need. We are patient because we believe He works things for good. I could go on and on. Why it strikes me as a new concept is hard to figure out.

It all gives good credence to my Dad’s quote, “Get a verse.” When you’re struggling, get a verse that tells you who God is in light of your struggle.

I barely skim the surface of all the content in this DVD and barely did justice to the skimming, but I tried.

Because this is my song of the week and it applies to the post, I would recommend spending your next 3 minutes and 30 seconds listening to God’s Unchanging Hand.Then let me know if you know someone who can teach our children to play one of those instruments.

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/10907416″>”God’s Unchanging Hand” – The Franz Family, Live (Canon 5DmkII)</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/coldwatermedia”>ColdWater Media</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

3 thoughts on “Believing God

  1. Thanks Julie – I’ve just been thinking along those same lines today – Sounds like it was a really good series. I’ve heard that song (the old foggie version though) but had forgotten how good the message was. Thanks for sharing it!!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2013 Top Ten | Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

