So Long Insecurity – Teen Edition Review

Warning: This post could also be titled “Beth Moore Quotes.”so long insecurityTitle: So Long, Insecurity – Teen Edition
Author: Beth Moore
Published: 2013 by Tyndale, who so freely and kindly sent me this book to review
Genre: Christian Living
My Overall Rating (5 point scale): 5
My Thoughts: This is very much a teen edition. It looks and reads like a magazine; it has a lot of pictures, trendy chapter titles, Q&A’s, surveys, and content broken up into small reading segments. I had two preteens check it out, one a big reader and one a not so big reader. They both thought it was cool. One of their mothers looked at it too and had nothing bad to say about it.

This magazine/book is very teen friendly but has excellent content for teenage girls today. “Fashion should be about finding your own personal style, not about compromising who you are on the inside.” (page 12) “A confident, secure girl understands that God created her and gave her the gifts she has.” (page 97)

I could see this as a great tool to use with a small study group of teenage girls and think it would make a great gift for the teenager girls in your life.

Reading this kept reminding me of reading the adult version, So Long, Insecurity: You’ve Been a Bad Friend to Us. I read it three years ago and still today I will remember things I read from it, especially “You are clothed with strength and dignity” when I’m feeling insecure going into a group of women. I looked back to see what quotes I had written down from three years ago and came across this one:

“If we knew who we were and what God has conferred upon us, what everybody else thought of us would grow less and less significant.”

I have heard a short part of the audio version of the adult So Long Insecurity. Beth Moore reads it, and if you’ve heard her speak then you know she’s easy and enjoyable to listen to. I read the book, but now I want to listen to all it.

Since we’re talking about Beth Moore, I’m doing her James study now and have a quote or so from that to share with you.

“God is holy and worthy and incapable of abusing His divine authority over you. So submit to God….He knows the well-deliberated plan for your life and how all things must fall into place for you to fulfill your destiny. So submit to God.” (page 143)

“If greater grace does not mean greater victory, deeper depths, gladder joy and higher heights with Jesus right here in this land of briers, to quote the consummate James questions, “What good is it?”” (page 140)

“What if we understood down to the marrow of our bones that His is the only plan that really does end up prospering us?” (page 153)

To leave you with a quote from another wise woman (my mom), “I know not to worship her [Beth Moore] but she sure does a good job.”

Leave a Reply

