Blackened Salsa

In the spirit of tomato season, I present to you a fabulous salsa recipe. It originated from a cookbook of a friend. I’m so glad they introduced it to me. You can see pictures of the process here.

Blackened Salsa

3 lbs (~20 medium) Roma tomatoes (The bigger type tomatoes don’t work as well for this.)4-6 fresh jalapenos, stemmed (more or less, seeded or not seeded, depending on how spicy you like your salsa)
1 medium white onion, sliced
8 garlic cloves, peeled
cumin to taste
a little fresh cilantro
1 T salt and sugar (more salt than sugar)
1 T vinegar or lime juice

Place tomatoes, whole or halved, peppers, onion, garlic and really any other veggies you might like in your salsa on cookie sheet. Broil in oven until lightly blackened on both sides. Dump all of that (skins, seeds and juice included) into a pot and blend. (I use my immersion blender because I don’t like to use my other blender, but you can dump it all into a normal blender to blend.)  Stir in remaining ingredients, taste and add whatever you feel like it needs to make it taste just like you want it. I hope you’re good at figuring out what you think it needs because I’m terrible at that.
You can eat it just like that or cook for 30-60 minutes to put in jars to can.

I hope you try it and love it!

Joanna – if you have any other thoughts about how to make this great condiment, please share in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Blackened Salsa

  1. I’m not sure how many quarts your 20 tomatoes would yield, but this is what I add to an 8-qt. kettle almost full of tomatoes, onions, garlic, and peppers: 1/2 c.salt, 1/3 c. lime juice, heaping 1/3 c. sugar, 1 T. vinegar, 1/2 – 1 tsp. cumin, cilantro to taste. Also, I pour off the clear juice that cooks out of the tomatoes, in order to make a thicker salsa. BUT I don’t have many Romas so mine are probably juicier. I also add a small can of paste per kettle full. Wow. Lots of tweaking. =/ Mmmm…. it’s still our favorite. And thanks for sharing your peppers!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Blackened Salsa Pictures | Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

