What Once Was Lost Review

In case you’re needing something to distract you from the cares of the world, the weather, the news, health care…, I have just the book for you.

KimVogelSawyerTitle and Author: What Once Was Lost by Kim Vogel Sawyer
Published: 2013 through WaterBrook Multnomah, who provided me with a copy of this book so I could review it for you
Genre and Setting: Christian Fiction occurring in Brambleville, Kansas in 1890
Plot: A fire starts a whole chain of negative events for Christina Willems and a blind boy Tommy
My Thoughts: I have many things I really appreciate about this book. First of all, God’s plan for salvation is beautifully and clearly stated. You can’t miss it and yet it doesn’t feel like you have to take a break from the plot to read through it.
As for the plot, it didn’t feel entirely predictable and had several great, meaningful themes in it. If you take the time to be introspective, you may even find a theme or two to apply to your life. The cast of characters is not small, but each unique character adds great life and interest to the story. Life for the main character really goes from bad to worse and to then even worse. In the end, it all works out for good. That’s a reminder about life I needed.
What Once Was Lost was just available for purchase last month. It has a prequel, which I would’ve loved to read before I read this and a short story extra coming out in November. By the looks of it Kim Vogel Sawyer has a lot of new books coming out in 2014. I hope I get a chance to review them.
You can read the first chapter of What Once Was Lost here.
My Overall Rating (5 point scale): 4:9

4 thoughts on “What Once Was Lost Review

  1. I’ve read several of her books – always thought she was really good – guess I’ll have to find this one for my Kindle – Thanks Julie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

