The Dawn of Christmas Review

dawnofchristmasTitle and Author: The Dawn of Christmas by Cindy Woodsmall
Published: 2012 by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers, who provided me with a copy of this book so I could review it for you
Genre and Setting: Amish Fiction in Apple Ridge, Pennsylvania
Plot: Sadie and Levi both have the problem of family pressuring them to find someone to marry…
My Thoughts: It’s a little hard to have a fresh review of a Cindy Woodsmall novella. I’ve never been disappointed after reading one of her books, and as always a novella is the perfect length of book for a quick read. This novella is no different. In this book Woodsmall once again has enjoyable characters, an interesting plot, and a happy ending.

The only thing I would recommend is that you read this book as part of the Christmas in Apple Ridge: Three-in-One Collection. This includes three novellas: The Sound of Sleigh Bells, The Christmas Singing, and The Dawn of Christmas. The Dawn of Christmas has characters from both of the other novellas in this collection and would be much more meaningful to you and leave you with fewer questions if you read the other two first. For example, Jonah, a minor character in The Dawn of Christmas in his 30’s, has a cane. I still wish I knew why he had a cane and know I would if I had read the other books in this three some first.
My Overall Rating for the book (5 point scale): 4.0

Leave a Reply

