Rest

Isaiah 29:13
They draw near to me with their words and honor me with their lip service, but they remove their hearts far from Me, and their reverence for Me consists of tradition learned by rote.

I don’t like it, but my heart has been drifting. Drifting into blah land. I tend to think it’s because of trying to stay on top of everyday life and because I’m just tired. I end up just going through the motions of worshiping and serving God, and my heart stays out of it because I need to get on to the next thing on my list.

The problem is I can’t stop trying to stay on top of life and I don’t see my coming year allowing for many nights of uninterrupted sleep. I asked God what am I supposed to do. How do I get my heart so it’s not so blah and distant? Then I read this verse:

Isaiah 30:15

For thus the Lord God, the Holy One of Israel, has said,
“In repentance and REST you will be saved,
In quietness and trust is your strength.”
But you were not willing.

I get repentance. I struggle with rest. My salvation, which I am confident of, comes by rest – resting in what the Mighty God, Wonderful Counselor, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace has already done for me. If that’s how my salvation is found, then keeping my heart close to Him wouldn’t come any differently. He doesn’t sit there and tell me to work hard to get my heart back in the right place. He tells me to rest. I love that.

I want my coming year to be a year of rest. I’m good at napping, but I really need to learn what inward resting looks like. How do I be at rest when work is stressful, when I feel like I don’t have time for anything extra in a day, when I’m being pulled in multiple directions, and when I’m sleep deprived. How do I keep my heart resting and excited about Jesus in the midst of that?

Do you know what it feels like to rest in the Prince of Peace?

How do you rest in Him in the midst of life?

One thought on “Rest

  1. So much truth in that verse. My 7 months devoted to rest have been very eye opening and encouraging. I will pray that you find the balance and rest you need in this changing season of your life. Remember “do what only you can do!” ( I think that came from Priscilla or some other study but I can’t remember!!!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

