1st Baby of 2014

Only in a small county can you know you have a chance of having the first baby of the new year at the county hospital when your due date isn’t until January 23.

Only in a small county is having the first baby of the year worth prizes from at least 18 different local businesses worth well over $200.

Only in a small county can you know you’re in the running for the first baby because the nurses at the doctor’s office can tell you without much thought or effort how many others are due in January. Don’t worry, they don’t tell names.

Only in a small county can you know the other person you’re competing against, even without the nurses telling you.

Finally, only in a small county might you be related to the other person who is due within a week of you.

20140105-150028.jpgShe’s due almost a week ahead of me and most likely will beat me even though I look like I’m a month more pregnant than her. Pretend it’s just because of the way I’m standing. She’ll make for a much cuter first baby of the year picture in the newspaper.

In light of pregnancy talk and the frigid temperatures some of you are dealing with, here is something my dad sent me to give you reason to smile.

20140106-200749.jpg

5 thoughts on “1st Baby of 2014

  1. Wow! I never even thot of you having a chance at first baby! One of the benefits not so quickly obvious, of living where we do. Smile. And the cartoon gave me my laugh for the day!! Thanks!

    Like

  2. She looks smaller than me in real life…it is totally the way she is standing!! And I am definitely planning on sharing some of the goodies with you if I go first 🙂 We went through too much together not to reap some of the rewards together!

    Like

  3. Pingback: October 26 | Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

