2 Good Books

First of all, thank you to Tyndale House Publishers for sending me the following book to review. If you don’t have a hymnal at your house, this would be a great way to get one and to get back story on each hymn too.
be still my soulBe Still My Soul – The Inspiring Stories behind 175 of the Most Loved Hymns by Randy Petersen had me liking it at first sight because the pages have a cool torn look on the side of the book. Then I opened it up and the pages have an aged look to them too, plus a hymn (just like it would look in a hymnal) is on every other page. Opposite each hymn is a history lesson about the hymn. I thought all hymns would have a story similar to the story that goes along with It Is Well, but this book talks about the author, where the words came from and the origin of the music. It’s a little different for each song, but I found the writing in the book tends to be more historical than inspirational. Now the hymns – they’re inspirational!

We were given this next book as a Christmas present.

jesus storybook bible

The Jesus Storybook Bible is AMAZING! It blows every other children’s Bible out of the water. It reads in a way that makes kids interested, and it tells the story of the Bible in such a clear way. At the same time, it hits home even for me when I read it. If you have a preschooler in your home, do whatever you can to become an owner of this book.

More to come on books later…

This entry was posted in Books by Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

About Julie

I'm blogging to glorify God by educating you about farming and telling you what God's doing in my life in the small (we're talking village) town in which I live.

One thought on “2 Good Books

  1. We have some of those hymn story books too (can’t remember if they are the same as this one – and they are down in Jerry’s office) but we love them – Also got that Bible story book on my Kindle and when offered the story reader – I got that too – there is a neat guy with a British accent reading it – and my Grandkids LOVE that!! 🙂 me too – it’s a GREAT Bible Story book – I agree with you! 🙂 My jonquils are finally up a ways…but not blooming yet. Soon though perhaps with our nice weather we’ve been having! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

