Emma of Aurora Book Review

Before I continue blogging, I have to say that we are thinking of all the people in Nebraska  impacted by the storms this spring, especially the tornadoes yesterday and tonight. We’re praying for you.

——

I chose to review Emma of Aurora: The Complete Change and Cherish Trilogy from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers. They are probably wondering if I was stealing their book from them and not reviewing like I said I would, but I didn’t find that I could just fly right through all of its 1,146 pages. The content seemed slightly heavy, and that thick of a book is hard to carry along for reading when time allows.

Here are my top 10 thoughts on this trilogy.

1. I chose to review it because I had already read the first book in the trilogy and I wanted to know what happened in Emma’s life.

2. The titles of the three books in the trilogy are A Clearing in the Wild, A Tendering in the Storm, A Mending at the Edge. You can get them as separate books if you don’t want to have the huge book to hold.

3. These take place primarily in the 1850’s and 1860’s in Oregon and Washington.

4. The controlling influences in Emma’s life drove me a little crazy. I don’t know how she put up with them. The main one would be the head of the colony. His self made, not based on the Bible, rules seemed ridiculous to me.

5. As always the author, Jane Kirkpatrick, does an amazing job of researching the characters and the culture of the time. I probably learned more than I realized because she naturally embeds it into the story.

6. The sadness in Emma’s life, caused by those controlling influences and just because of how life can be, are completely disheartening. This book rings much more like a real life story than a feel good novel.

7. Here’ are a couple quote that give a small taste of the books.

“Most of the time, though, because we traveled faster than wagons could, we rode alone on the vast prairies, tiny pencil dashes against a slate of prairie green. A band of people so insignificant that even the Sioux took little notice of us, leaving us alone to contemplate the monotony of our days, the certainty of our future.” (page 124)
“I’d once thought it took great courage to live isolated and alone, but living with one another took more. Our reward was hearing words that rang a bell within our souls. We’d be encouraged by the toll.” (page 1056)

8. Writing about Emma and her colony prompted Kirkpatrick to write a nonfiction book, Aurora: An American Experience in Quilt and Craft.

9. If you haven’t read a book by Jane Kirkpatrick before, I would recommend you start with The Daughters Walk or Where Lilacs Still Bloom.

10. I’m glad I read this trilogy because I appreciate the time and culture I live in more and I learned interesting things, but it was not a breeze through in a few days novel for me. After I finished it, I was excited to read something fun – Fired Up by Mary Connealy. If you’ve read any of those series you might want to check out the book she wrote about who the main characters met.

 

 

Leave a Reply

