A New Year

I’m going to try for a once a week post highlighting Small Town Nebraska’s main ideas. We’ll see how it goes.

Updates: 

Juliet has been out of the hospital since before Thanksgiving! Thank you so much for all of your prayers for her. Keep them coming.

– Here are 3 other great ideas you came up with for what Liza was talking about at the dishwasher:

  • …and I really recommend the 2 year service plan.
  • I have the best mom in the world and could go on and on about it
  • That coffee is really kicking in

HA! HA! Love them!

Family:

Have you ever experienced life with an almost one year old? It’s an experience all its own. She found the toilet water this weekend. Always bound to happen at some point. Thankfully it was a flushed toilet.

My college roommate stopped by on her way to Colorado. I’m telling you very seriously, we make the perfect stopping point for you who are traveling to Colorado. My parents and niece came to visit too. We made sure to give my niece a dad a taste of western Nebraska sledding even though it was super cold. They loved it and wanted more.Western Nebraska sleddingSledding behind a 4 wheelerWinter fun

What I’m Thinking:

Is it pathetic that my main New Year’s resolution is to make it a habit to sweep the kitchen after we eat supper? I’m focusing on something small that can make a mental difference for me. I can’t think of how many times I look at the floor and feel so frustrated by all the stuff all over it. Liza will be disappointed if this habit sticks, since she likes to come and find a snack off of it at any given time.

I’m thinking I should also resolve to quit being uptight when my house is a mess because that would really cut out on over half of the stress I put upon myself and stressing over a messy house probably isn’t causing a lot of holy behavior AND I’m going to have a one year old for most of the year.

I’m wishing I could find a 2 year plan for reading through the Bible chronologically. I haven’t been successful, so if you find one let me know. I did find a one year plan that I may just adapt to make it 2 years.

Recommendations:

I highly recommend the 5x5x5 reading plan if you’re just getting started with making Bible reading a habit for you.

If you’re looking for a good book to read to start off your year, I highly recommend The Same Kind Of Different As Me by Ron Hall and Denver Moore, which is essentially a very interesting and moving autobiography of two people. Did you catch that? It’s an autobiography of two people, a true story or two true stories that combine into one. The subtitle of the book explains it more, A Modern-Day Slave, An International Art Dealer, and The Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together. I read this book over three years ago, and still remember it being a meaningful book. Consider this quote from the book.

“There’s somethin I learned when I was homeless: Our limitation is God’s opportunity. When you get all the way to the end of your rope and there ain’t nothin you can do, that’s when God takes over. I remember one time I was hunkered down in the hobo jungle with some folks. We was talkin ’bout life, and this fella was talkin, said, “People think they’re in control, but they ain’t. The truth is that which must befall thee must befall thee. And that which must pass thee by must past thee by.”” (169)

same kind of different as meThank you to BookLook Bloggers for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book. If you’d like to borrow it, please let me know.

Small Town Nebraska:

You know you live in a small town when you look out your window every time you hear a car drive by.

Farming:

Ground is a little too cold to do much farming other than reading and talking about it. Farmers never stop farm talking.

Leave a Reply

