I Will Fear No Evil, for YOU are with Me

What I’ve Been Thinking:
The Kara Tippetts story has spent some time consuming my thoughts lately. In her suffering Jesus was her comfort and hope. I’ve recently read in the Bible about God’s presence being such a privilege and joy for the Isrealites, and then verses giving us reason not to fear solely because of his presence have come across my path.

Psalm 23:4
Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I fear no evil, for You are with me;

Deuteronomy 31:6
Be strong and courageous, do not be afraid or tremble at them, for the Lord your God is the one who goes with you. He will not fail you or forsake you.

So I’ve been asking myself, “Is Jesus presence enough for me?” and my truthful answer is that I don’t understand how it can be, but I’m going to trust that it is.

Wyatt has a real fear of tornados now that we are in “tornado season.” I can’t honestly promise that we won’t be hit by a tornado, but I’ve decided I can tell him Jesus will always be with us. I get hit with fears like all mom’s do. What if I have to give up chocolate? What if I live in this house the rest of my life? What if  ____________ (insert terrible, tragic, unspeakable thought). Now, I pray it never happens, and tell myself that Jesus will always be with me. Even though I don’t understand how that can be enough because I don’t know Him well enough, I have found it still brings me peace.

Does it you?

Farming:
Gear BoxesThese pivot gear boxes were out getting warranty work done on them. Brad put them back on this week and some tires too. He also sprayed some wheat with fertilizer and in perfect time. We got moisture the next day! It was in the form of snow, but we don’t care how it comes.

Nebraska:
This was Elliana’s view on our way to school this April morning.

See the deer?

See the deer?

That was the first of four sets of deer I saw along the road today. It’s always so good to see them and to not hit them.

Book Recommendation:
Bearenstain Bears God Made You Special

I can’t compare God Made You Special by Mike Berenstain to other books about children with special needs, but I really like how this book approaches the subject. It starts with talking about how kids hear about God’s love for them and can see it in things around them. Then it makes them think about how that love is for everyone. It never mentions a specific disability or label but still points out that some people are created with very obvious differences. I really appreciate that it points out that those differences are there to teach us something, and I really like the questions at the end of the book. They opened the door for great conversations with my 5 and 7 year old. I’m very thankful BookLook Bloggers sent me a copy of this book to review for you, and they didn’t twist my arm to make me tell you positive things either.

Nebraska Recommendations:
I know these two Nebraska bloggers, and their recent posts make me want to be a better writer and make me think they need to post more. You will be touched and inspired if you take time to read God Moved My Finish Line and Can You Still Feel The Butterflies.

Coming up next weekend!

White Barn Treasures

It was a huge success last fall and is sure to be a bigger success this spring.

My Family:
Ever felt this way? Maybe try taking a nap next time you do.
IMG_2061 IMG_2059
What if she doesn’t nap?! Will Jesus be enough for me then?

Leave a Reply

