On Shifting Sand

Farming:
Sinking sand is what gravel roads are like around here. I’m so glad we live on asphalt. We see rain in the forecast and actually plan it will come, unlike before when we figured the chance of rain would disappear before the day arrived. With all the rain, little has been planted this week. We’ve heard some talk of the wheat possibly scabbing or rusting or something; but we’ll still take the rain. Speaking of wheat, I need to get you pictures of the winter kill. It’s all over the place. It’s on my mental to-do list.

Recommendations:on shifting sand

On Shifting Sand by Allison Pittman was sent to me by Tyndale House Publishers so I could review it for you. I wouldn’t recommend reading it if you’re looking for a light read.

It’s written in first person present, with the first person being a young wife and mother living in Oklahoma during the dust bowl. It takes on an erie feel to start and rarely feels light hearted. You read so much about all the dirt and dust it almost makes you feel dirty. I have a whole new appreciation for anyone who lived through that depressing time.

All that dust and dryness Pittman uses as a metaphor to sin, and the impact of sin on the main character’s life is devastating just like the drought. You can’t read this book and miss that point. Realizing that metaphor made me appreciate this book, and I then ended up wanting to read it. Before that I was just depressed by the lack of rain, the impossible task they had of keeping things clean, and the main character’s poor choices. Overall, I’d say this is an impressively written book.

What I’m Thinking and Learning: 
The above book and a variety of other things have me thinking of this verse.

Deuteronomy 30:19 I  call heaven and earth to witness against you today, that I have set before you life and death, the blessing and the curse. So choose life [following God’s way] in order that you may live, you and your descendants,

2 thoughts on “On Shifting Sand

Leave a Reply

