Lovely October Evenings

Small Town Nebraska/My Family:
The trunks (country dwellers) really showed up at the trunk or treat tonight. We might have trunk or treated more than we trick or treated. It was a great time!


Farm Education:cornEverywhere I looked I saw people harvesting. I actually saw one combine so full that corn was spilling out of the side of it! Hello?! Maybe it was a first time driver. I kept thinking that I wanted to pick corn and was afraid I might not get my time in the combine. Amazing what three years will do to a person. You must not think I’m strange until you experience how satisfying picking corn is.

Finally, the pivot is ready to be picked. I went there as soon as was done with work on Thursday. Brad only gave me a 30 second reminder and left me alone. He didn’t even ride along with me to make sure I knew what I was doing this year. My only caution was to not back into a pole. (Go ahead and pray right now that I never do that.)

I only had to call Brad one time to figure out why things were beeping. It took me less than a minute to line up the header with the rows, and I only had to back up to get it right one time! I promise I’m still not an expert, but I didn’t hold my breath half the time I was driving. Just a few times, like maybe when I first had to unload into the grain cart and pick at the same time. See this grain cart? I filled it as full as I could. Brad was pleased.
full graincart

Brad saved me from having to pick the messy end rows, but I rode along and got pictures of our friends’ combine from the window of our combine.   October Sunset

I had time to get more pictures later because I was picked full, the grain cart was full, and we were waiting for the truck to come back from the elevator. I wish I would’ve had my good camera! harvested cornfieldThis would be a lovely picture without the auger in it, but then you wouldn’t know it was taken from a combine.
combine auger sunset harvest sunsetIt was a gorgeous evening. I know I’m not supposed to wish my little kids away, but I do look forward to when I can get my combine time without having to have other people take care of my kids. Liza confined to a cab for any length of time is a terrible idea. corn harvest at duskRain is keeping us out of the field this weekend, which is a good thing; but we’ll be back on Monday!

7 thoughts on “Lovely October Evenings

  1. Love this!!! the pictures are really good in spite of the good camera not being with you. I LOVE that you are enjoying (minus the little one in the cab) combining and feeling confident too!!! 🙂 So proud of you Julie girl!! “You’ve come a LONG way baby…..” (in case you don’t know, those are some of the lyrics from some old song – ask your folks – they probably remember it too) 🙂 Love you kiddo!!!

    Like

  2. Delightful post. Kids are looking good and growing so much since April! I soooo can relate to holding your breath half the time while in charge of equipment in the field! Nice to begin having more confidence more regularly.

    Like

  3. Pingback: October Saturday | Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

