More On Harvest 

Small Town Nebraska/Farm Education:
A friend directed me to this incredible video of a Nebraska farming community harvesting for a fellow farmer who was seriously injured in a car accident late this summer. If you aren’t going to get in on any corn harvest this year, this will help meet that void in your life. It will warm your heart too.

Farm Education:
Brad finished picking the pivot Tuesday morning! When I started Monday morning the monitor said 65.170 acres done. combine monitorWhen I left 11 hours later, it said 117.706. Ag Leader MonitorHow many people just started to do math in their head? My sidekick for the day and I had a lot of good numbers to use for practicing subtraction throughout the day.

[God made me to have cheeks that run into my neck with no thought of a jaw line. I struggle with seeing the good in this.]

[God made me to have cheeks that run into my neck with no thought of a jaw line. I struggle with seeing the good in this. Thank you to all my friends that love me still.]

We had one time in the day where the lines were long enough at the elevator that while Brad was waiting there, we had time to fill the other truck, the grain cart and the combine. While we waited for him, we went through the field to see how many ears we could gather that the combine had missed. We should’ve taken a bucket and shovel with us. We found a pile from when the grain cart had gone faster than the combine before we realized it! Oops!

spilled field cornIt made for a comfortable place to rest.

spilled cornMuch more comfortable than this.harvested corn stalksIf you look at that picture again, you’ll see the stalks from what we just harvested on the left and a stalk from last year on the right. Tough plants!

I thought often during the day about a great venn diagram I would create for you comparing vacuuming to combining. Now I think that would take more time than I have to offer. I think the main differences are that you only have to combine once or twice in a year and my husband actually appreciates when I do it. Please share if you come up with some other similarities or differences!

IMG_0076Family:
Our church had a penny scramble in pinto beans at their harvest carnival. Liza barely left it and her hands turned a lovely shade of brownish gray from all her bean sifting. She now clearly says, “Money!” and knows that a penny is money. They were going to throw the beans away, but I rescued them in order to rescue my sanity at some point. IMG_0082 IMG_0081The hour of work I got done while she scooped and dumped beans was well worth having to sweep up some beans off the floor. Thank you harvest carnival!

Thanks for reading!

~Julie~

2 thoughts on “More On Harvest 

Leave a Reply

