Thankful

Let me be very unoriginal this week of Thanksgiving and state everything through the lens of how I’m thankful for it. I’m thankful that it will save me from having to think of how to start each thought.

Nebraska:
I’m thankful for people who are willing to take giant steps of faith so we can all see God work in big ways. What this Nebraska family is undertaking is only something that God can empower.
—-
I’m thankful we had a snow day last week, although I felt stressed about not going to work. Below you see the most pathetic reason for a snow day ever. How can you go from a possible 12+ inches of snow to basically nothing?

IMG_2772

What I’ve Been Thinking:
I’m thankful that “Greater is He that is in me than he that is in the world.” (1 John 4:4)

Books:M is for MangerI’m thankful that Tyndale Publishers provided me with a copy of M is for Manger by Crystal Bowman and Teri McKinley to review for you. I like a lot about this children’s book! It takes each letter of the alphabet and chronologically tells the story of Jesus’ birth. With each letter is a picture and a verse that goes along with a four line rhyming poem. inside m is for mangerI thought the true test of M is for Manger would be if they came up with something other than “Zzzzz” for something sleeping with the letter Z, and they did! Z is for the zillions of stars that shone in the sky. I also was really happy they included why Jesus came.

“Jesus came for all of US –
his glory filled the earth.
He came to be our Savior
from the moment of his birth.”

If you’re looking for a little Christmas gift for a toddler in your life, I recommend this book. It can help them learn about the alphabet, rhyming and Jesus all at once!

the one

Finally, I’m thankful to Blogging for Books for sending me The One by Ryan and Amanda Leak to review. The authors of this book got engaged and married on the same day, and Ryan planned it all! They talk about how that all happened some in the book, but the focus is mostly on how to set yourself up for a successful marriage before you get married. I requested the book to review because I thought I should probably read something about how to make my marriage better; and although some things they say can apply if you’re already married, their story and advice are from their dating relationship. Ryan and Amanda take turns writing their perspective, so you get a male and female view on things. They do a nice job of combining telling you about the events in their life with the wisdom they learned from it and give scripture to back up what they’re saying. After each chapter they summarize by giving a question to ask yourself, one thing to remember, and one thing to work on. I wouldn’t say it’s a must read if you’re in a spot in life where you’re wishing you were married, but you may want to check it out.

One thought on “Thankful

  1. Pingback: Summer Reading | Small Town Nebraska

Leave a Reply

