Mother’s Day

Family:
My mother and father came to visit and help us out. Hallelujah! We need all the help we can get around here. My eight-year-old is into cooking, so I thought making the chocolate chip cookie sandwiches that Elliana wanted to make would be a good activity for them to do together.
IMG_0092When I help Elliana cook, I am often holding my tongue and sometimes my breath. I wonder if my mom had to do the same thing when she taught me to cook. I sure don’t remember her acting as tense as I feel when I’m in the kitchen with my kids. IMG_0095She’s an awesome mother and grandma.

Farm Education:
The text this time said, “We [Brad and Elliana] are stuck. You need to come out to the field. Bring chain off cherry picker”

I was picturing the tractor in the middle of the field, but it was just the pick-up stuck in the soft ditch. It’s kind of complicated how it got there, but Elliana said it was the most exciting day of her life. 
Stuck PickUp PickUp in a ditch
This was my first pull a pick up out of the mud experience, and it came right out on the first attempt.

Update:
FIVE YEARS after buying this house and saying we were going to change the countertops, we finally don’t have a grimy back splash that’s made of the same thing as the countertop.

kitchen before

Before

kitchen after

After

The lovely green counter is also GONE!

Before

Before

After

After

I could’ve waited to take the ‘after’ picture until Brad got the black outlets installed; but considering the current season, I figured it would be better if I got the picture now – before the counters had the time to collect their usual collection of stuff. If these picture show nothing else, they should at least encourage us to get all that random stuff off the countertop. 

Psalm 139: 17
How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God!
How vast is the sum of them!

One thought on “Mother’s Day

  1. Ah – so glad they could come out and see (help) you guys. 🙂 I got new counter tops last fall – a solid surface type stuff – but SO MUCH nicer than the old Formica was. I know the lift it can bring to update things…especially after waiting a long time. Love that you got Brad out of the ditch. You rock girlie!! I think of you often and pray for you almost every day. 🙂 Hope your spring is BEAUTIFUL!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

